Crio, Winter of doing experience

Crio, Winter of doing experience

Crio Winter Of Doing - This challenge was organized by the crio.do and it was basically a three-stage program. I was great to learn and help others to learn by using this platform.

Who am I? A biology background, non-engineer guy, and a self-taught programmer.

The programming stack I use- Frontend Stack - JavaScript (React Js, Next js, Gatsby) Backend Stack- Node Js. Full-stack - MERN. I deployed my projects mostly at the hostinger server and some using firebase, Heroku, and Netlify.

I am working to hone my skills to become full-stack dev, some concepts seem still complex to me. I was basically learning from free online resources, mostly by reading the documentation of various things I want to learn and then applying them. I started my journey by watching a video on YouTube of Free Code Camp by Quincy Larson on #100DaysOfCode.

Coming back to my Crio experience -

Stage 1 of CWoD-

I joined it to test my skills, and I found at some places I am still struggling, and at debugging I am very good. I guess my habit of Reading documentation helped me a lot.

It has an extensive curriculum, and it focuses on details. I learned a lot by completing the course. I would say I mostly learned by helping others and debugging their problems.

[my portfolio website, I created during the program]

(alexxx.netlify.app)

DSA round-

When I heard DSA will be their evaluating criteria for selection, I knew I is going to be very difficult me, When I attempted it for the first time on 28th Jan 21, I was somehow able to solve the 1st Q, I was getting the output, but two undefined output were also there. So, It was good enough for me. The assessment got canceled and I appeared again on the 1st of Feb, after scanning the questions, I found that there is no hope for me today. I was thinking that they might check my profile or other things but, In the end, I guess that DSA might be the only criteria or might have high weightage for the selection of stage 2 and that is the end of my crio journey

End of the CWoD journey-

Anyway, Being a self-taught dev, This was the best opportunity for me to learn and help others to learn.

My concluding thought- In my opinion, Crio has done great in terms of curriculum and detail of documentation. There was a little hiccup in their server I guess they were not expected this type of response from the programmer community mostly newbies like me, but they managed everything very well.

There were many people who were helping others so, I never felt that I am alone in my journey. various sessions on different topics make this CWoD journey very exciting.

One of the most important things that Crio people were in touch with the students and taking feedback, helping them with the problem they were facing, and communicating effectively.

I am working on some other projects currently. Leaning next-Js and improving my backend knowledge is one of them.

Thank you crio.do once again for providing this opportunity to learn by participating in crio winter of doing the program.